Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)
This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Fiction, History & Biography,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order.

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

The Palace of Curiosities

by Rosie Garland
£7.99   paperback  HarperCollins Publishers (2013)

The Palace of Curiosities by Rosie Garland A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight.
 
Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps…and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn’t cry – she meowed and licked her paws.
 
When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste?
 
Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner’s Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever.

ISBN 13: 9780007492787 | ISBN 10: 0007492782