Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)

featured book: New Books - Mind, Body & Spirit, New Books - Women / Feminism,

This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Health & Wellbeing, Environment & Animal Rights, Disability, History & Biography,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order (if it's not in stock here in the shop).

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home

by Katherine May
£8.99   paperback  Orion Publishing Co (Trapeze) (2019)

The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman Perfect for fans of The Salt Path and The Outrun, this book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds.
 
In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can’t meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It’s a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger’s Syndrome.
 
The Electricity of Every Living Thing tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far – a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself.

ISBN 13: 9781409172512 | ISBN 10: 1409172511

For mail-order we charge postage at actual cost, at current Royal Mail rates by parcel weight and size