Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

by Fredrik Backman - £7.99  Hodder & Stoughton General Division (2016)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781444775853 | ISBN 10: 1444775855

The hilarious, heart-breaking novel by the author of the international bestseller A Man Called Ove.
 
A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette.
 
Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house.
 
Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them.
 
But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally?
Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown?
 
Seven-year-old Elsa does.
 
Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway.
 
As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own...

(Price & availability last checked: April 2016)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Writers By Surname - B,
In categories: Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page