Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Jakob's Colours

by Lindsay Hawdon - £8.99  Hodder & Stoughton General Division (2016)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781444797664 | ISBN 10: 1444797662

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief.
 
Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y.
 
He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone.
 
'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs.
 
Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.

(Price & availability last checked: February 2016)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  

Featured book: Recommended books for Yuletide 2016!,
In booklists: World Fiction - Austria, Writers by Surname - H, World War II, Peace and War in Fiction,
In categories: Fiction, History & Biography, Peace & Human Rights,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page