Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Zainab Takes New York

by Ayesha Harruna Attah - £9.99  Headline Publishing Group (2022)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781472288394 | ISBN 10: 1472288394

***INCLUDED IN THE AFRICA CENTER’S ROUND-UP OF 50 NOTABLE AFRICAN BOOKS OF 2021***
 
Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself...
 
She’s moving to New York City to pursue her lifelong dream to become an illustrator, but she doesn’t just want to get a job. She’s also on a mission to make enough money to go on a night out, buy a whole bottle of wine (not just a glass) and, most importantly of all, to fall in love.
 
But as she grows accustomed to the hustle and bustle of city life – with the help of her new roommate Mary Grace, and life-long friend, Densua – she begins to hear the voices of her ancestors in her mind...
 
Could understanding her family’s past hold the key to Zainab’s future?
 
A charming romcom about one woman learning to fall in love in one of the most magical cities on earth, Ayesha Harruna Attah’s novel is perfect for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin, Kiley Reid and Angela Makholwa.

(Price & availability last checked: April 2022)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Books - Black, Asian & Other Diasporas,
In booklists: World Fiction - Africa, Best New Fiction, Writers by Surname - A, World Fiction - USA,
In categories: Fiction, World - Africa, World - North America,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2022 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page