Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)

featured book: New Fiction, News from Nowhere recommends..., Recommended books for Yuletide 2017!,

This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Fiction, Ireland, Scotland & Wales,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order (if it's not in stock here in the shop).

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

The Stolen Child

by Lisa Carey
£8.99   paperback  Orion Publishing Co (2017)

The Stolen Child by Lisa Carey A gothic intrigue, for fans of The Snow Child, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Sarah Waters and M. R. Carey.
 
St Brigid's is a remote island off the west coast of Ireland. It is a barren place and its small community is dwindling. But according to rumour it is a magical place, home to a healing well.
 
Two sisters, Rose and Emer, have resisted the call of the mainland. Rose is beautiful, blessed with love and many children. Emer is unlovely and, worse still, she is cursed by the strange currents that run through her fingers.
 
When a dazzling stranger alights on St Brigid's, she is shunned. She has come in search of a miracle, and the islanders keep their secrets close. But gradually she insinuates her way into the sisters' lives, and even Emer opens her heart.
 
Little do they realise that her quest will endanger the lives of all who remain on the island. Passion will endanger everything they hold dear.

ISBN 13: 9781474603812 | ISBN 10: 1474603815

For mail-order we charge postage at actual cost, at current Royal Mail rates by parcel weight and size