Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)
This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Fiction, Humour, Gifts & Seasonal, Poetry & Writing,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order.

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

Soft in the Head

by Marie-Sabine Roger
£8.99   paperback  Pushkin Press (2016)

Soft in the Head by Marie-Sabine Roger An international bestseller, Marie Sabine-Roger's heartwarming novel is a touching and comic tale about the power of books. For fans of The Uncommon Reader and The President's Hat.
 
His mother called him a worthless halfwit while his fellow drunks at the local bar ensure he's the butt of all their jokes. He spends his days whittling wood, counting pigeons and adding his own name to the bottom of the list on the town war memorial. So how could Germain possibly understand what a casual encounter on a park bench with eighty-five year old Margueritte could mean?
 
In this touchingly comic tale of an unusual friendship, that first conversation opens a door into a world Germain could never have imagined - the world of books and ideas - and gives both him and Margueritte a chance at a happiness they thought had passed them by.

ISBN 13: 9781782271581 | ISBN 10: 1782271589