Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

A History of the World Since 9/11

by Dominic Streatfeild - £9.99  Atlantic Books (2011)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781843547617 | ISBN 10: 1843547619

From Samuel Johnson Prize Shortlisted author Dominic Streatfeild comes a brilliantly original and stunningly readable work of investigative history which paints an revealing picture of the world since the attacks on the World Trade Centre. Essential reading for fans of Naiomi Klein and Michael Moore.
 
In A History of the World Since 9/11 Dominic Streatfeild expertly combines history, biography and investigative journalism to show how a massacre on a clear September day in 2001 has touched the lives of millions of people around the world. In a series of brilliantly interlinked chapters he shows how an Afghani wedding party; and a gas station proprietor in Texas; and a planespotter in Mallorca have been affected, sometimes devastatingly, by the American response to the attacks on the Twin Towers.
 
Streatfeild shows how the sleep of reason and good sense in successive US administrations post-9/11 has brought forth the monsters of extraordinary rendition, Guantanamo Bay, extrajudicial execution and wholesale contravention of international law. This is a work that informs as it entertains and induces outrage as it inspires.

(Price & availability last checked: June 2019)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: September 11, 2001 July 7th, 2005 and the 'War on Terror', World History,
In categories: Peace & Human Rights, World - North America, History & Biography,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2019 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page