Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)
This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:World - Middle East, Poetry & Writing, Black, Asian & Other Diasporas, Society, Welfare, Justice & the State, Environment & Animal Rights,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order.

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

Basrayatha: The Story of a City

by Muhammad Khudayyir
£7.99   paperback  Verso Books (2008)

Basrayatha: The Story of a City by Muhammad Khudayyir Basrayatha is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq.
 
Just as a city’s inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore.
 
By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, Basrayatha summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people.
 
In the tradition of Italo Calvino and Luis Borges, Khudayyir’s mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

ISBN 13: 9781844672332 | ISBN 10: 1844672336