Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop
news from nowhere
Liverpool's Radical & Community Bookshop
not-for-profit · a worker's co-operative · committed to social change
Search for & order any book in print:
(goes to our order website)
This book appears in the following booklists

in categories:Fiction,

Order this book online - this link leads to our secure order website which will indicate how long the book will take to order (if it's not in stock here in the shop).

(Availability of '24-48 hours' means our wholesaler has stock - we place orders 2-3 times a week & receive the books next day.)

(Availability of '7-10 days' or 'Special Order' means we order direct from the publisher - order times vary, many supply within 10 days.)

Phone us: 0151 708 7270

enquire about this book

Mail order, postage & payment information

more about ordering books

Thief

by Maureen Gibbon
£8.99   paperback  Atlantic Books (2012)

Thief by Maureen Gibbon This explosive, riveting, controversial novel about sex and sexuality is essential reading for fans of Alice Sebold, Lionel Shriver and M J Hyland.

"A shocking novel that grips from the first page."
(Independent)
One lazy summer, Suzanne escapes her life in the city for a long holiday in the countryside. She rents a cabin in the woods, and places a personal ad in the newspaper: "Great kisser, good listener."
 
Among the several replies to her ad, one stands out. An ordinary letter, unremarkable in every way, except for the postmark: Stillwater State Prison.
 
The sender is Alpha Breville. A convict, a thief, and a rapist. Perhaps against her better judgement, she writes back to him. But what begins as a remote correspondence quickly evolves into something much more dangerous, exciting, and intimate...

ISBN 13: 9781848871847 | ISBN 10: 1848871848

For mail-order we charge postage at actual cost, at current Royal Mail rates by parcel weight and size