Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Gretel and the Dark

by Eliza Granville - £8.99  Penguin Books Ltd (Hamish Hamilton Ltd) (2015)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9780241146460 | ISBN 10: 0241146461

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope.
 
For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth.
 
Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance.
 
Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed...
 
Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

(Price & availability last checked: March 2015)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  

Featured book: Recommended books for Yuletide 2015!,
In booklists: World Fiction - Europe, World Fiction - Austria, Writers by Surname - G, World Fiction - Germany, Historical Fiction,
In categories: Fiction, World - Europe, History & Biography,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page