Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Baby Love

by Jacqueline Wilson - £12.99  Penguin Random House Children's UK (2022)
hardback    ISBN 13: 9780241567104 | ISBN 10: 0241567106

A heartbreaking, compelling and timely story for older readers about teen pregnancy, family trouble and unlikely friendships, set in 1960.
 
When Laura meets a French exchange student, Leon, she is flattered by his interest in her. She's never had any sort of boyfriend before. One night, Leon walks Laura home - and her life will never be the same again.
 
Things start to change for Laura - first her moods, and then her body. Laura isn't prepared for what she learns next - and doesn't even know how it could have happened.
 
When her family learns her secret, they are horrified. Sent away to save them from shame, Laura meets girls just like herself, whose families have given up on them - and they become a family for each other at the most difficult time in all their lives.
 
An emotional and moving tale for fans of Dear Nobody and Juno. Not suitable for younger readers. Recommended for readers aged 13+

(Price & availability last checked: March 2022)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Books for Young Adults,
In booklists: Fiction - Young Adults,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2022 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page