Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Dollmaker of Krakow

by R. M. Romero - £6.99  Walker Books Ltd (2018)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781406379822 | ISBN 10: 1406379824

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom.
 
One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks. This powerful story is about finding friendship in the darkest of places and the importance of love in times of great pain.
 
Recommended for readers aged: 9+

(Price & availability last checked: October 2018)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Poland - Books for Children, World War Two: Books for Children and Young Adults, Fiction - Older Children, Peace & War - Books for Children, Europe - Books for Children,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, World - Europe, Peace & Human Rights, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page