Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Bombs That Brought Us Together

by Brian Conaghan - £7.99  Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (2017)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781408855768 | ISBN 10: 1408855763

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever.
 
Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy.
 
Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will...
 
Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.

(Price & availability last checked: February 2017)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  


In booklists: Fiction - Young Adults, Immigration, Refugees & Asylum Seekers: Books for Teenagers, Peace and War - Books for Young Adults,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Fiction, Anti-Racism, Peace & Human Rights,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2021 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page