Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Maid's Room

by Fiona Mitchell - £8.99  Hodder & Stoughton (2018)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781473659599 | ISBN 10: 1473659590

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.
 
Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, The Maid's Room follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David.
 
Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.

(Price & availability last checked: April 2018)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: World Fiction - Singapore, Writers by Surname - M, World Fiction - Asia,
In categories: Fiction, World - Asia,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page