Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The Librarian of Auschwitz

by Antonio Iturbe - £8.99  Ebury Publishing (Ebury Press) (2019)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781529104776 | ISBN 10: 1529104777

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous.
 
'It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns...’
 
Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the ‘living books’ - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be ‘borrowed’ to educate the children in the camp.
 
But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children’s block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor...

(Price & availability last checked: April 2019)

This website can't tell you if we have this in stock or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below
The COVID-19 crisis is causing delays in supply from some book distributors, and currently most books take at least 1 - 2 weeks to come in - so if you need this book urgently, or by a specific date, please use the enquiry link to ask about supply time.
  


In booklists: Libraries and Librarians, Fiction - Anti-Semitism and The Holocaust, Writers by Surname - I, Historical Fiction, Books About Books!,
In categories: Education, Poetry & Writing, History & Biography, Fiction, Jewish Diaspora, Humour, Gifts & Seasonal,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page