Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Diary of a Void

by Emi Yagi - £9.99  Vintage Publishing (2023)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781529114812 | ISBN 10: 1529114810

A hilarious, feminist debut novel from a new star of Japanese fiction.
 
'One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer.' Independent
 
For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions... 
 
A prizewinning, thrillingly subversive debut novel from a new star of Japanese fiction, perfect for readers of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs
 
'Always expect the unexpected when you're not expecting.' Sloane Crosley
 
'Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.' Kirsty Logan
 
As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her coworkers' dirty cups - because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is... Ms Shibata is not pregnant.
 
Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.
 
Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go.
 
Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

(Price & availability last checked: November 2023)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: Recommended Fiction & Poetry for Yuletide 2023!,
In booklists: Writers by Surname - Y, World Fiction - Japan, Feminist Fiction, World Fiction - Asia,
In categories: Fiction, Feminism & Women, World - Asia,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2024 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page