Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Widowland

by C J Carey - £8.99  Quercus Publishing (2022)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781529412000 | ISBN 10: 1529412005

‘READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH’ Bel Mooney
 
An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris’ Fatherland, Christina Dalcher’s Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood.
 
‘A TRIUMPH’ Amanda Craig
‘CONVINCING AND GRIPPING’ Elizabeth Buchan
‘BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED’ Clare Chambers
‘TERRIFIC HEROINE’ Adèle Geras
‘VIVIDLY IMAGINED’ Nicci French
 
To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.
 
London, 1953, Coronation year – but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II.
 
Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain’s Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg’s particular interest.
 
Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task.
 
Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose.
 
Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed.
 
‘THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES’ Jane Harris
‘A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY’ Henry Porter
‘BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER’ Miranda Carter

(Price & availability last checked: May 2022)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Fiction,
In booklists: Best New Fiction, Writers by Surname - C, Feminist Fiction,
In categories: Fiction, Feminism & Women,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2022 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page