Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Odd, Weird & Little

by Patrick Jennings - £5.99  Egmont USA (2015)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781606845684 | ISBN 10: 1606845683

Readers who love Louis Sachar and Andrew Clements will find this charming, easy-to-read middle-grade novel an absolute hoot!
 
The new kid in school dresses like a businessman, carries a briefcase, and never says anything except "Who?" Frankly, he's a bit odd, maybe because he's actually an owl. Fans of Guinea Dog will adore this latest hilarious story.
 
When the new kid joins his class, Woodrow agrees with his schoolmates--Toulouse is really weird. He's short-- kindergarten short--dresses in a suit like a grandpa, has huge eyes, and barely says a word. But Woodrow isn't exactly Mr. Popularity himself. The frequent target of the class bully, he figures that maybe all Toulouse needs is a chance. When the two are put together in gym to play volleyball, they make quite the team. Toulouse can serve, set, and spike like a pro. He really knows how to fly around the court. But when the attention and teasing switch back to Woodrow, he learns that the new kid is great at something else: being a friend.

(Price & availability last checked: March 2015)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  


In booklists: Bullying: Books for Children, Being Small, Wearing Glasses: Books for Children, Fiction - Younger Children,
In categories: Childrens & Teenage Books, Children & Young People, Fiction,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page