Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Sedated: How Modern Capitalism Created our Mental Health Crisis

by James Davies - £10.99  Atlantic Books (2022)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781786499875 | ISBN 10: 1786499878

A provocative and shocking look at how western society is misunderstanding and mistreating mental illness. Perfect for fans of Empire of Pain and Dope Sick.
 
In Britain alone, more than 20% of the adult population take a psychiatric drug in any one year. This is an increase of over 500% since 1980 and the numbers continue to grow. Yet, despite this prescription epidemic, levels of mental illness of all types have actually increased in number and severity.
 
Using a wealth of studies, interviews with experts, and detailed analysis, Dr James Davies argues that this is because we have fundamentally mischaracterised the problem. Rather than viewing most mental distress as an understandable reaction to wider societal problems, we have embraced a medical model which situates the problem solely within the sufferer and their brain.
 
Urgent and persuasive, Sedated systematically examines why this individualistic view of mental illness has been promoted by successive governments and big business – and why it is so misplaced and dangerous.

(Price & availability last checked: April 2022)

This website can't tell you if we have this book in the shop or not - to ask, phone us or use the enquiry link below. (We can order most books within 7-10 days, subject to availability.)
  

Featured book: New Books - Politics & Activism, New Books - Mind, Body & Spirit,
In booklists: Capitalism, Corporate Power & Globalisation, Politics of Health, Mental Health,
In categories: Anti-Capitalism & Global Inequality, History & Biography, Society, Welfare, Justice & the State, Health & Wellbeing,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2022 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page