Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Basrayatha: The Story of a City

by Muhammad Khudayyir - £7.99  Verso Books (2008)
paperback    ISBN 13: 9781844672332 | ISBN 10: 1844672336

Basrayatha is a literary tribute by author Muhammad Khudayyir to the city of his birth, Basra, on the Shatt al-Arab waterway in southern Iraq.
 
Just as a city’s inhabitants differ from outsiders through their knowledge of its streets and stories, so Khudayyir distinguishes between the real city of Basra and the imagined city he created through stories, experiences, and folklore.
 
By turns a memoir, a travelog, a love letter, and a meditation, Basrayatha summons up a city long gone, yet which lives on in the memories and imaginations of its people.
 
In the tradition of Italo Calvino and Luis Borges, Khudayyir’s mesmerizing work itself illuminates and enriches the story of this magnificent city.

(Price & availability last checked: August 2018)

The website can't tell you if this book is in the shop or not, sorry - call us or use the enquiry link below to ask

  


In booklists: Iraq, Black & Asian Writers & Literature, Travel Writing and Guides - Middle East, Cities and Towns,
In categories: World - Middle East, Poetry & Writing, Black, Asian & Other Diasporas, Society, Welfare, Justice & the State, Environment & Animal Rights,

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page