Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

World Fiction - Austria -

Related category: Fiction

The website can't tell you if a book is in the shop or not, & though we do our best to keep information up to date, occasionally prices may change a little - so if you would like to check any information before ordering a book, call us or use the enquiry links to ask

Sorry, the COVID-19 crisis affects the availability of many books - use enquiry links by each book to ask if we can currently supply it or not

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 7 books in this booklist

This list represents some of the books on this subject that we have had in our shop - but there will be many more that we can order for you!

  • Cover image of book My Own Dear Brother by Holly Müller
    My Own Dear Brother - by Holly Müller

    £8.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781408866795 | ISBN 10: 140886679x

    It is 1944, and war has taken the men in Nazi-controlled Austria to the front line. For thirteen-year-old Ursula Hildesheim life in the village of Felddorf remains almost as it was: bullied by her schoolmates, idly thieving from the village shop, enl ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Jakob
    Jakob's Colours - by Lindsay Hawdon

    £8.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781444797664 | ISBN 10: 1444797662

    Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief.   Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler
    A Whole Life - by Robert Seethaler

    £8.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781447283904 | ISBN 10: 1447283902

    The 170,000-copy German bestseller Andreas lives his whole life in the Austrian Alps, where he arrives as a young boy taken in by a farming family. He is a man of very few words and so, when he falls in love with Marie, he doesn't ask for her han ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
    Gretel and the Dark - by Eliza Granville

    £8.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9780241146460 | ISBN 10: 0241146461

    Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope. For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth. Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to enco ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Society of the Crossed Keys: Selections from the Writings of Stefan Zweig by Stefan Zweig, selected by Wes Anderson
    The Society of the Crossed Keys: Selections from the Writings of Stefan Zweig - by Stefan Zweig, selected by Wes Anderson

    £9.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9781782271079 | ISBN 10: 1782271074

    "I had never heard of Zweig until six or seven years ago, as all the books began to come back into print, and I more or less by chance bought a copy of Beware of Pity. I immediately loved this book, his one, big, great novel and suddenly there were ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Beware of Pity by Stefan Zweig
    Beware of Pity - by Stefan Zweig

    £8.99   paperback   (2012) - ISBN 13: 9781908968371 | ISBN 10: 1908968370

    Stefan's Zweig's Beware of Pity is an almost unbearably tense and powerful tale of unrequited love and the danger of pity. In 1913 a young second lieutenant discovers the terrible danger of pity. He had no idea the girl was lame when he asked he ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Old Masters by Thomas Bernhard
    Old Masters - by Thomas Bernhard

    £9.99   paperback   (2010) - ISBN 13: 9780141192710 | ISBN 10: 0141192712

    Old Masters (1985) is Thomas Bernhard's devilishly funny story about the friendship between two old men.   For over thirty years Reger, a music critic, has sat on the same bench in front of a Tintoretto painting in a Viennese museum, thinking ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page