Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Single Mothers: Books for Children -

Related categories: Childrens & Teenage Books / Children & Young People /
Related booklists: Mothers & Motherhood, Single Parent Familes - Books for Children, Stepfamilies & New Partners: Books for Children and Teens, Single Fathers: Books for Children,

This website can't tell you if a book is in our shop right now or not. Most books can be ordered within 7-10 days, subject to availability. You can always call us or use the enquiry links to ask if a book is in stock or how long it would take to order. (Note: we do our best to keep information up to date, but occasionally prices may have changed.)

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 15 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book Will You Catch Me? by Jane Elson
    Will You Catch Me? - by Jane Elson

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781444927788 | ISBN 10: 1444927787

    From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.   Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise ca ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Secret of Black Rock by Joe Todd-Stanton
    The Secret of Black Rock - by Joe Todd-Stanton

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781911171744 | ISBN 10: 1911171747

    This surreal modern folk-tale tells the story of an adventurous young girl who must protect a peaceful living creature.   Erin is fascinated by the stories of Black Rock: a huge, dark and spiky mass that is said to destroy any boats that come near ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Joey Pigza Loses Control by Jack Gantos
    Joey Pigza Loses Control - by Jack Gantos

    £6.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9780440870531 | ISBN 10: 0440870534

    Joey's dad is well and truly wired! After months of nagging, Joey Pigza is finally allowed to spend the summer holidays with his dad. But he soon finds out why Mom was so worried. If people think Joey has problems, they should meet his dad! ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Happy Families: Mrs.Vole the Vet by Allan Ahlberg, illustrated by Emma Chichester Clark
    Happy Families: Mrs.Vole the Vet - by Allan Ahlberg, illustrated by Emma Chichester Clark

    £6.99   paperback   (2014) - ISBN 13: 9780723293941 | ISBN 10: 0723293945

    Mrs Vole the vet has one son, three daughters, three cats, four dogs and no husband. She works day and night curing rabbits and leopards and hamsters and elephants and every animal in between. But her children think she deserves some attention too, s ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Little Darlings by Jacqueline Wilson
    Little Darlings - by Jacqueline Wilson

    £6.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9780440868347 | ISBN 10: 0440868343

    Sunset lives a life of luxury with her beautiful ex-model mum, her world-famous ex-rocker dad and two little celeb siblings. But life on the red carpet is no compensation for rowing parents, constant nagging, intensive media scrutiny and no real frie ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book My Name is Mina by David Almond
    My Name is Mina - by David Almond

    £7.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9780340997260 | ISBN 10: 0340997265

    Theres an empty notebook lying on the table in the moonlight. Its been there for an age. I keep on saying that Ill write a journal. So Ill start right here, right now. I open the book and write the very first words: My name is Mina and I love the ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Alfie Gives a Hand by Shirley Hughes
    Alfie Gives a Hand - by Shirley Hughes

    £6.99   paperback   (2009) - ISBN 13: 9781862307858 | ISBN 10: 1862307857

    Alfie is delighted to be invited to Bernards birthday party, although he feels a bit nervous about going on his own. But Alfie has such a great time, he finds he doesnt even need his special blanket and he makes a new friend too!   Joi ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Savage by David Amond, illustrated by Dave McKean
    The Savage - by David Amond, illustrated by Dave McKean

    £6.99   paperback   (2009) - ISBN 13: 9781406319859 | ISBN 10: 1406319856

    "There was a wild kid living in Burgess Woods. He had no famly and he had no pals and he didn't know where he came from and he culdn't talk. His wepons were old kitchen nives and forks and an ax. He was savage. He was truely wild."Blue Baker is writ ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Mum-Minder by Jacqueline Wilson
    The Mum-Minder - by Jacqueline Wilson

    £4.99   paperback   (2008) - ISBN 13: 9780440868255 | ISBN 10: 0440868254

    I'm Sadie and I'm nearly nine. Mum's a childminder, but she doesn't have to mind me. I can mind myself, easy-peasy. Lucky for Mum, because now she's got the flu, so I've got to mind her - and help with all the babies!' "The humorous account of a v ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Princess Grace by Mary Hoffman, Cornelius van Wright, and Ying-Hwa Hu
    Princess Grace - by Mary Hoffman, Cornelius van Wright, and Ying-Hwa Hu

    £6.99   paperback   (2008) - ISBN 13: 9781845076696 | ISBN 10: 1845076699

    Grace is back!   The girl from Amazing Grace who proved that you can be anything you want and that families are what you make them, now discovers that there's more more than one way to be a princess.   Grace has the chance to be a pri ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson
    The Illustrated Mum - by Jacqueline Wilson

    £6.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9780440867814 | ISBN 10: 0440867819

    Covered from head to toe with one-of-a-kind tattoos, Marigold is the brightest, most beautiful mother in the world. At least, thats what Dolphin thinks she just wishes Marigold wouldnt stay out quite so late or have mood spells every now and agai ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Candyfloss by Jacqueline Wilson
    Candyfloss - by Jacqueline Wilson

    £6.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9780440866459 | ISBN 10: 0440866456

    Floss's parents split up when she was younger and she now divides up her week, spending five days with her mum, her mum's new boyfriend and her new baby half-brother. The other two days Floss spends with her dad, helping him to run his greasy spoon c ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Gettin
    Gettin' Through Thursday - by Melrose Cooper, illustrated by Nneka Bennett

    £8.99   paperback   (2001) - ISBN 13: 9781584300144 | ISBN 10: 1584300140

    Andr dreads Thursdays. Thursday is the day before Mama gets paid at work each week it's the day when money is tight and spirits are low for Andr and his older brother and sister.   As report card day approaches, Andr anticipates making t ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Since Dad Left by Caroline Binch
    Since Dad Left - by Caroline Binch

    £6.99   paperback   (2000) - ISBN 13: 9780711213555 | ISBN 10: 0711213550

    Sid is cross. He doesn't understand why his mum and dad don't live together anymore. Sandra, his mum, arranges for him to spend some time with Mick, his dad, but Sid doesn't want to go. But Mick slowly wins him over, and by the time he returns to his ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book I
    I'll Take You to Mrs Cole! - by Nigel Gray, illustrated by Michael Foreman

    £6.99   paperback   (1998) - ISBN 13: 9780862644079 | ISBN 10: 0862644070

    A touching story set in the inner-city, about a little boy who lives on his own with his working mother - who overcomes his fear of a neighbour and her family and makes many new friends.  Whenever he is naughty, his mother threatens him with ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page