Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

World Fiction - Syria -

Related categories: Fiction / World - Middle East /
Related booklists: World Fiction - Middle East, Syria,

This website can't tell you if a book is in our shop right now or not. Most books can be ordered within 7-10 days, subject to availability. You can always call us or use the enquiry links to ask if a book is in stock or how long it would take to order. (Note: we do our best to keep information up to date, but occasionally prices may have changed.)

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 10 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book The Stray Cats of Homs by Eva Nour
    The Stray Cats of Homs - by Eva Nour

    £12.99   hardback   (2020) - ISBN 13: 9780857526755 | ISBN 10: 0857526758

    'A cat has seven souls in Arabic. In English cats have nine lives. You probably have both nine lives and seven souls, because otherwise I don't know how you've made it this far.'  Sami's childhood is much like any other - an innocent blend of ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri
    The Beekeeper of Aleppo - by Christy Lefteri

    £8.99   paperback   (2020) - ISBN 13: 9781838770013 | ISBN 10: 1838770011

    For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Kite Runner and The Other Hand - a testament to the human powers of survival.  In the midst of war, he found love In the midst of darkness, he found courage In the midst of tragedy, he found hope ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book From a Low and Quiet Sea by Donal Ryan
    From a Low and Quiet Sea - by Donal Ryan

    £8.99   paperback   (2019) - ISBN 13: 9781784160265 | ISBN 10: 1784160261

    ***LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018*** ***SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARD 2018***   Farouk’s country has been torn apart by war.  Lampy’s heart has been laid waste by Chloe.  John’s past torments him as ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Sea Prayer by Khaled Hosseini, illustrated by Dan Williams
    Sea Prayer - by Khaled Hosseini, illustrated by Dan Williams

    £12.99   hardback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781526602718 | ISBN 10: 1526602717

    My dear Marwan, I look at your profile in the glow of this moon, my boy, your eyelashes like calligraphy, closed in guileless sleep. And I say to you, 'Hold my hand. Nothing bad will happen.'   A deeply moving, gorgeously illustrated short wo ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book No Knives in the Kitchens of This City by Khaled Khalifa, translated by Leri Price
    No Knives in the Kitchens of This City - by Khaled Khalifa, translated by Leri Price

    £9.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9789774167812 | ISBN 10: 9774167813

    Winner of the Naguib Mahfouz Medal for Literature: an eloquent portrayal of life under dictatorship by an acclaimed Syrian writer.  In the once beautiful city of Aleppo, one Syrian family descends into tragedy and ruin. Irrepressible Sawsan f ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Just Another Jihadi Jane by Tabish Khair
    Just Another Jihadi Jane - by Tabish Khair

    £9.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781902932545 | ISBN 10: 1902932544

    At first glance, Jamilla and Ameena couldn’t be more different. Both are Yorkshire-born teenage girls of South Asian descent; but whereas Jamilla lives with her conservative Muslim family and is quiet, religious and academically bright, the more wo ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Breaking Knees: Sixty-Three Very Short Stories from Syria by Zakaria Tamer
    Breaking Knees: Sixty-Three Very Short Stories from Syria - by Zakaria Tamer

    £9.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781902932453 | ISBN 10: 1902932455

    Wry, satirical and bawdy, Tamers stories are always informed by his dark view of humanity and of Syrian society in particular. Through these glimpses of corrupt, fearful lives under a violent dictatorship, it is possible to discern echoes of the sto ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Silence and the Roar by Nihad Sirees
    The Silence and the Roar - by Nihad Sirees

    £8.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781908968296 | ISBN 10: 190896829x

    With The Silence and the Roar, Nihad Sirees writes a powerful, life-affirming and Kafkaesque novel about a censored writer trying to live a normal life under a Middle Eastern dictatorship, Syria.   Fathi, a writer no longer permitted to write, ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Azazeel by Youssef Ziedan
    Azazeel - by Youssef Ziedan

    £9.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781848874299 | ISBN 10: 1848874294

    Set in the 5th century AD, Azazeel is the exquisitely crafted tale of a Coptic monk's journey from Upper Egypt to Alexandria and then Syria during a time of massive upheaval in the early Church. The monk, Hypa, embarks on a journey both physical and ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Sarmada by Fadi Azzam
    Sarmada - by Fadi Azzam

    £10.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9781906697341 | ISBN 10: 1906697345

    Three women struggle against the forces of society, family, and passion in a small Druze village in the south of Syria as the country itself struggles against the forces of the Ottoman Empire, the French Empire, and then the Baath.   The v ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page