Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

Cancer -

Related category: Health & Wellbeing
Related booklists: Women and Cancer, Cancer - Survivor's Stories, Palliative Care, Cancer: Books for Young Adults,

These are some of the books on this subject that we have had in our shop - but there will be many others that we can also order! (Note: this website cannot tell you if we have a book in stock right now or not, and though we do our best to keep information up to date, occasionally prices may have changed.)
The COVID-19 crisis is causing delays in supply from some book distributors, and currently most books take at least 1 - 2 weeks to come in - so if you need any of these books urgently, or by a specific date, use the enquiry links to ask about supply time.

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 20 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book One Woman Walks Wales by Ursula Martin
    One Woman Walks Wales - by Ursula Martin

    £12.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781909983601 | ISBN 10: 1909983608

    Ursula Martin never thought she would walk 3700 miles around Wales, but following a cancer diagnosis it seemed like the only reasonable thing to do. In 17 months, she traversed beaches and mountains, farms and urban sprawl. She received unimaginable ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book In Gratitude by Jenny Diski
    In Gratitude - by Jenny Diski

    £9.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9781408879948 | ISBN 10: 1408879948

    The future flashed before my eyes in all its pre-ordained banality. Embarrassment, at first, to the exclusion of all other feelings. But embarrassment curled at the edges with a weariness... I got a joke in. 'So ÔŅĹ we'd better get cooking the meth ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Embroidered Cancer Comic by Sima Elizabeth Shefrin
    The Embroidered Cancer Comic - by Sima Elizabeth Shefrin

    £7.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781848192898 | ISBN 10: 1848192894

    Decreased libido is a common effect of cancer treatment, but it can be awkward to talk about and it is often brushed under the carpet.  Elizabeth Shefrin doesn't shy away from this most intimate of topics, and in this embroidered comic she share ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Gratitude by Oliver Sacks
    Gratitude - by Oliver Sacks

    £9.99   hardback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781509822805 | ISBN 10: 1509822801

    Oliver Sacks died in August 2015 at his home in Greenwich Village, surrounded by his close friends and family. He was 82. He spent his final days doing what he loved: playing the piano, swimming, enjoying smoked salmon - and writing.  As Dr S ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Inflatable Woman by Rachael Ball
    The Inflatable Woman - by Rachael Ball

    £18.99   hardback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781408858073 | ISBN 10: 140885807x

    Iris (or balletgirl-42 as she's known on the internet dating circuit) is a zookeeper looking for love when she is diagnosed with breast cancer. †Overnight, her life becomes populated with a carnival of daunting hospital characters. Despite the attemp ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The C-Word by Lisa Lynch
    The C-Word - by Lisa Lynch

    £7.99   paperback   (2015) - ISBN 13: 9781784750473 | ISBN 10: 1784750476

    Updated with new material, The C Word is the incredibly moving, darkly humorous account of one woman's fight against breast cancer. Now a BBC Drama starring Sheridan Smith.   The last thing Lisa Lynch had expected to put on her 'things to do ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe
    The End of Your Life Book Club - by Will Schwalbe

    £10.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781444706383 | ISBN 10: 1444706381

    The inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a 'book club' that brings them together as her life comes to a close. For fans of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture.  Mary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treat ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Cancer Survivor
    The Cancer Survivor's Companion: Practical Ways to Cope with Your Feelings After Cancer - by Lucy Atkins and Frances Goodhart

    £9.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9780749954901 | ISBN 10: 0749954906

    Coping with life after cancer can be tough. The idea that the end of successful treatment brings relief and peace just isn't true for countless survivors. Many feel unexpectedly alone, worried and adrift. You're supposed to be getting your life 'back ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book [Sic] by Joshua Cody
    [Sic] - by Joshua Cody

    £7.99   paperback   (2012) - ISBN 13: 9781408822463 | ISBN 10: 1408822466

    Joshua Cody was about to receive his PhD from Columbia University when he was diagnosed with an aggressive cancer. He underwent six months of chemotherapy. The treatment failed. Expectations for survival plummeted. After consulting with several oncol ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Long Goodbye: A Memoir by Meghan O
    The Long Goodbye: A Memoir - by Meghan O'Rourke

    £8.99   paperback   (2012) - ISBN 13: 9781844086771 | ISBN 10: 1844086771

    Meghan O'Rourke was thirty-two when her mother died of cancer on Christmas Day, 2008. As a writer, even in the depths of her grief, she was fascinated by what she observed of herself in the aftermath: the rage she felt, not only at what had happened ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Woman
    A Woman's Disease: The History of Cervical Cancer - by Ilana Lowy

    £14.99   hardback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9780199548811 | ISBN 10: 0199548811

    Cervical cancer is an emotive disease with multiple connotations. It has stood for the horror of cancer, the curse of femininity, the hope of cutting-edge medical technologies and the promise of screening for malignant tumours. For a long time, this ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
    The Emperor of All Maladies - by Siddhartha Mukherjee

    £12.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9780007250929 | ISBN 10: 0007250924

    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Non-fiction 2011.† In The Emperor of All Maladies, Siddhartha Mukherjee, doctor, researcher and award-winning science writer, examines cancer with a cellular biologistís precision, a historianís perspective, an ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Traditional Chinese Medicine Approaches to Cancer: Harmony in the Face of the Tiger by Henry McGrath
    Traditional Chinese Medicine Approaches to Cancer: Harmony in the Face of the Tiger - by Henry McGrath

    £12.99   paperback   (2009) - ISBN 13: 9781848190139 | ISBN 10: 1848190131

    Research shows that Chinese medicine can be very effective in supporting the treatment of cancer by orthodox Western methods, and is particularly effective in alleviating many of the side effects of treatment. Henry McGrath draws on his many years as ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Your Life in Your Hands: Understand, Prevent and Overcome Breast Cancer and Ovarian Cancer by Professor Jane Plant
    Your Life in Your Hands: Understand, Prevent and Overcome Breast Cancer and Ovarian Cancer - by Professor Jane Plant

    £12.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9780753512043 | ISBN 10: 0753512041

    Professor Jane Plantís international bestseller on combating breast cancer through diet and lifestyle changes has been fully revised and updated, including new information on ovarian cancer and other types of cancer.   In this groundbreak ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Take Off Your Party Dress: When Life
    Take Off Your Party Dress: When Life's Too Busy for Breast Cancer - by Dina Rabinovitch

    £7.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9781416527886 | ISBN 10: 1416527885

    'In a world that doesn't do scar-chic, just what do you wear when you're one-breasted, or no-breasted? In my post-hospital weeks I'm not able to life my arm so clothes that go over the head are out of the question. I phone Vogue to ask their fashion ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Cancer Vixen: A True Story by Marisa Acocella Marchetto
    Cancer Vixen: A True Story - by Marisa Acocella Marchetto

    £12.99   paperback   (2007) - ISBN 13: 9780007258963 | ISBN 10: 0007258968

    "What happens when a shoe-crazy, lipstick-obsessed, wine-swilling, pasta-slurping, fashion-fanatic, single-forever, about-to-get-married big-city girl cartoon-ist with a fabulous life finds...a lump in her breast?"†That's the question that sets this ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Complete Guide to Relieving Cancer Pain and Suffering by Richard B. Patt and Susan S. Lang
    The Complete Guide to Relieving Cancer Pain and Suffering - by Richard B. Patt and Susan S. Lang

    £24.99   paperback   (2006) - ISBN 13: 9780195312027 | ISBN 10: 0195312023

    Dr. Richard B. Patt, one of America's leading cancer pain experts, teams up with science writer Susan Lang to produce a much-needed, sensible handbook for patients and caregivers on all aspects of cancer pain. †The authors illuminate the reasons why ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Apology for Absence by Julia Darling
    Apology for Absence - by Julia Darling

    £9.99   paperback   (2005) - ISBN 13: 9781904614128 | ISBN 10: 1904614124

    A little over a year since the appearance of her first book of poetry, Sudden Collapses in Public Places (which was awarded a Poetry Book Society Recommendation), Julia Darling completed her second collection.  Her first book grew from her e ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Bristol Approach to Living with Cancer by Helen Cooke
    The Bristol Approach to Living with Cancer - by Helen Cooke

    £9.99   paperback   (2003) - ISBN 13: 9781841196800 | ISBN 10: 1841196800

    Since 1980 the Bristol Cancer Centre has offered new hope to tens of thousands of people diagnosed with cancer. At Bristol treatment is based on the restoration of calm and in adopting a lifestyle to strengthen mind and body. The Bristol Approach set ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Cancer Journals by Audre Lorde
    The Cancer Journals - by Audre Lorde

    £16.99   paperback   (1997) - ISBN 13: 9781879960732 | ISBN 10: 1879960737

    Originally published in 1980, Audre Lorde's The Cancer Journals offers a profoundly feminist analysis of her experience with breast cancer and a modified radical mastectomy.  Moving between journal entry, memoir, and exposition, Lorde fuses the ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page