Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

The website can't tell you if a book is in the shop or not, & though we do our best to keep information up to date, occasionally prices may change a little - so if you would like to check any information before ordering a book, call us or use the enquiry links to ask

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 10 books in this booklist

This list represents some of the books on this subject that we have had in our shop - but there will be many more that we can order for you!

  • Cover image of book The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero
    The Dollmaker of Krakow - by R. M. Romero

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781406379822 | ISBN 10: 1406379824

    A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom.  One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life i ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit
    Anna and the Swallow Man - by Gavriel Savit

    £7.99   paperback   (2017) - ISBN 13: 9780141376646 | ISBN 10: 0141376643

    Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel that tells a new WW2 story. � Krak�w, 1939, is no place to grow up. There are a million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. And Anna Lania is just seve ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Glass Mountain: Tales from Poland by Jan Pienkowski
    The Glass Mountain: Tales from Poland - by Jan Pienkowski

    £8.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781406360950 | ISBN 10: 1406360953

    Jan Pienkowski brings eight of the best-loved Polish folk tales to life with vibrant and witty cut paper illustrations.   From Jan Pienkowski, much-loved illustrator of the Meg and Mog series, comes this beautiful collection of Polish folk tal ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Day My Father Became a Bush by Joke van Leeuwen
    The Day My Father Became a Bush - by Joke van Leeuwen

    £6.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781877579165 | ISBN 10: 1877579165

    The Day My Father Became a Bush is a delightful and poignant story of wartime Europe.  Before he becomes a bush, Toda’s father is a pastry chef. He gets up at the crack of dawn to bake twenty different sorts of pastries and three kinds of c ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Tamar by Mal Peet
    Tamar - by Mal Peet

    £7.99   paperback   (2012) - ISBN 13: 9781406339130 | ISBN 10: 140633913x

    When her grandfather dies, Tamar inherits a box containing a series of clues and coded messages. Out of the past, another Tamar emerges, a man involved in the terrifying world of resistance fighters in Nazi-occupied Holland half a century earlier. H ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Halo by Zizou Corder
    Halo - by Zizou Corder

    £7.99   paperback   (2010) - ISBN 13: 9780141328300 | ISBN 10: 0141328304

    Washed ashore as a baby in ancient Greece, Halo is discovered by a family of centaurs. Although her true identity remains a mystery, she is loved as one of their own. But when Halo is dragged away by fishermen, her wild adventure begins...  ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Then by Morris Gleitzman
    Then - by Morris Gleitzman

    £6.99   paperback   (2009) - ISBN 13: 9780141324821 | ISBN 10: 0141324821

    I had a plan for me and Zelda. Pretend to be someone else. Find new parents. Be safe forever. Then the Nazis came.  My name is Felix. This is our story. "harrowing at times but ultimately hopeful, and full of dignity and resilience ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Ever Clever Eva by Andrew Fusek Peters
    Ever Clever Eva - by Andrew Fusek Peters

    £5.99   paperback   (2009) - ISBN 13: 9780713688832 | ISBN 10: 0713688831

    When Eva's uncle refuses to give her the cow he promised, her father takes him to court. The judge decides that whoever can answer his questions correctly will keep the cow.   Eva comes up with the right answers, and her father wins the conte ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr
    When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit - by Judith Kerr

    £6.99   paperback   (2008) - ISBN 13: 9780007274772 | ISBN 10: 0007274777

    Partly autobiographical, this is first of the internationally acclaimed trilogy by Judith Kerr telling the unforgettable story of a Jewish family fleeing from Germany at the start of the Second World War.  Suppose your country began to change. S ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Dragon of Krakow: and Other Polish Stories by Richard Monte and Paul Hess
    The Dragon of Krakow: and Other Polish Stories - by Richard Monte and Paul Hess

    £6.99   paperback   (2008) - ISBN 13: 9781845077525 | ISBN 10: 1845077520

    These Polish folk tales have a delightfully mischievous character all their own. To create his sparkling collection, Richard Monte has gathered some of Poland's favourite stories from all over the country. ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd 2004-2020 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page