Back to home page - News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

News From Nowhere Radical & Community Bookshop

not-for-profit - a workers'co-op - committed to social justice | 96 Bold Street, Liverpool L1 4HY - 0151 708 7270

India - Books for Children -

Related categories:
Related booklists: India - Books for Young Adults,

This website can't tell you if a book is in our shop right now or not. Most books can be ordered within 7-10 days, subject to availability. You can always call us or use the enquiry links to ask if a book is in stock or how long it would take to order. (Note: we do our best to keep information up to date, but occasionally prices may have changed.)

Books are listed in order of year of publication - newest titles are at the top. There are 14 books in this booklist

  • Cover image of book City of Stolen Magic by Nazneen Ahmed Pathak
    City of Stolen Magic - by Nazneen Ahmed Pathak

    £7.99   paperback   (2023) - ISBN 13: 9780241567487 | ISBN 10: 0241567483

    A spellbinding, epic and heart-racing magical adventure from an exquisite new storytelling talent.  'An unexpected gem of a story... A stellar setting, a gut-punch of a twist, and an unforgettable heroine. This has all the hallmarks of classi ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book India, Incredible India by Jasbinder Bilan, illustrated by Nina Chakrabarti
    India, Incredible India - by Jasbinder Bilan, illustrated by Nina Chakrabarti

    £14.99   hardback   (2022) - ISBN 13: 9781406395426 | ISBN 10: 1406395420

    Journey across the diverse regions of India in this beautifully illustrated introduction to the culture and history of this incredible country and its people, with words by a Costa-winning author.  The first work of non-fiction by multi-award ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Rainbow Hands by Mamta Nainy and  Jo Loring-Fisher
    Rainbow Hands - by Mamta Nainy and Jo Loring-Fisher

    £11.99   hardback   (2022) - ISBN 13: 9781913747831 | ISBN 10: 1913747832

    As the long Indian summer days stretch ahead of him, a young boy looks forward to his favourite time – painting-his-nails-time. He knows that when he dips his brush into those magical bottles of nail polish, he will find a colour to express his eve ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Tamarind & the Star of Ishta by Jasbinder Bilan
    Tamarind & the Star of Ishta - by Jasbinder Bilan

    £6.99   paperback   (2020) - ISBN 13: 9781913322175 | ISBN 10: 1913322173

    From the author of the Costa Award-winning Asha & the Spirit Bird comes a breathtaking, magical adventure... Tamarind never knew her Indian mum, Chinty, who died soon after she was born. So when she arrives at her ancestral home, a huge mansi ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Asha & the Spirit Bird by Jasbinder Bilan
    Asha & the Spirit Bird - by Jasbinder Bilan

    £6.99   paperback   (2019) - ISBN 13: 9781911490197 | ISBN 10: 1911490192

    Asha lives on the family farm with her mother in rural India.   Her father is away working in the city, and when the money he sends stops suddenly, a wicked debt collector arrives. She’s determined to seize the property – and the treasure ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book When the Mountains Roared by Jess Butterworth
    When the Mountains Roared - by Jess Butterworth

    £6.99   paperback   (2018) - ISBN 13: 9781510102118 | ISBN 10: 1510102116

    A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.  I thought we'd live here forever ... but ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Jar of Pickles and a Pinch of Justice by Chitra Soundar, illustrated by Uma Krishnaswamy
    A Jar of Pickles and a Pinch of Justice - by Chitra Soundar, illustrated by Uma Krishnaswamy

    £5.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781406364675 | ISBN 10: 1406364673

    Further delightful trickster tales from India.   Prince Veera and his best friend, Suku, are left in charge of King Beema's court when the king goes off on a hunting trip. Each day the king's subjects come before the boys with their problems a ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Gandhi for Kids: His Life and Ideas, with 21 Activities by Ellen Mahoney
    Gandhi for Kids: His Life and Ideas, with 21 Activities - by Ellen Mahoney

    £15.50   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9781613731222 | ISBN 10: 1613731221

    With his wire-rimmed glasses, homespun cloths, and walking stick, Mohandas Gandhi is an international symbol of nonviolence, freedom, simplicity, and peace. Tracing Gandhi's evolution from a shy boy in India to a courageous, world-traveling spiritual ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book Seasons of Splendour: Tales, Myths and Legends of India by Madhur Jaffrey, illustrated by Michael Foreman
    Seasons of Splendour: Tales, Myths and Legends of India - by Madhur Jaffrey, illustrated by Michael Foreman

    £6.99   paperback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9780141370026 | ISBN 10: 0141370025

    India is particularly rich in colourful follore. These stories, told by parents to their children for many generations, make a rich and dazzling collection of mythological tales drawn from a great heritage of Hindu epics - from the life of the great ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Honey Hunter by Karthika Nar and Jolle Jolivet
    The Honey Hunter - by Karthika Nar and Jolle Jolivet

    £15.00   hardback   (2016) - ISBN 13: 9783899557305 | ISBN 10: 3899557301

    The story of the honey hunter begins in Sundarban, a land of eighteen tides and six seasons, where three rivers meet in a huge mangrove forest. At first, everything is peaceful for the thousands and thousands of honeybees that live there not far from ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Elephant Road by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright
    The Elephant Road - by Nicola Davies, illustrated By Annabel Wright

    £5.99   paperback   (2013) - ISBN 13: 9781406340877 | ISBN 10: 1406340871

    A child, a wild animal � and a life-changing encounter. An exciting new range of books in which children find solutions to problems through conservation rather than killing.  One night, Wilen is woken up when his hut is tipped sideways by eleph ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book The Grasshopper
    The Grasshopper's Run - by Siddhartha Sarma

    £6.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9781408809402 | ISBN 10: 1408809400

    Just as the invasion begins, an ambitious and vicious Japanese officer orders the massacre of a village of the Ao Naga tribe. Among those killed is Uti, grandson of the eldest Ao chief.  Gojen is his best friend, and on hearing the news o ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book A Beautiful Lie by Irfan Master
    A Beautiful Lie - by Irfan Master

    £7.99   paperback   (2011) - ISBN 13: 9781408805756 | ISBN 10: 1408805758

    An atmospheric, quirky and moving debut novel, set in India. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Childrens Book Prize and nominated for the 2011 Branford Boase Award.  An extraordinarily rich debut novel, set in India in 1947 at the time of ... more

    View book details    
  • Cover image of book City of Ghosts by Bali Rai
    City of Ghosts - by Bali Rai

    £7.99   paperback   (2010) - ISBN 13: 9780552556019 | ISBN 10: 0552556017

    It's 1919 and Amritsar is a city on the brink of rebellion. Riots, violence and tension spill onto the streets...   Bissen Singh fought bravely for the British Empire during World War One. Now he waits patiently for news from England.  ... more

    View book details    

© News From Nowhere Co-operative Ltd IP24524R 2004-2024 | Privacy policy | Contact | return to top of page